Fabian Williams SharePoint Blog

Solving problems with SharePoint day and night

Enabling ReverToSelf on your BDC/BCS Service Application Instance

As i am getting ready to do a Preso at #DevConnections in Las Vegas in less than a month

ConnectionsEsignature_Speaking

I am sprucing up my Demo and to make sure I appease the Demo Gods I am removing the rooms for error by managing permissions to its least complex denominator.  As such I am going to run in the context of the BCS Service App Pool Account. In order to do that you will need to run a PowerShell command as it is disabled by default Out of Box (OOB), here is how you do it.

The How

In my case I am using the IDE and when you do that you need to make sure that you add the SharePoint Snap-In

Add-PSSnapin "Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

then you will run the following script preferable already put in a ps1. file

   1: $bdcs = Get-SPServiceApplication | where {$_ -match "BDC"}

   2: $bdcs.RevertToSelfAllowed = $true

   3: $bdcs.Update()

 

Once you execute that badboy you should be ok

vlpebccb

 

Cheers!.

September 11, 2013 Posted by | Business Connectivity Services, SharePoint 2013 | | Leave a comment