Fabian Williams SharePoint Blog

Solving problems with SharePoint day and night

How does Tagging Work in SharePoint 2010 for MySites – Microsoft Forum Question


This post is to give illustration to a Microsoft Forum Question regarding Tagging pages and how it is represented in activity feeds that I see as an individual tagging items in my SharePoint environment, and also what my colleagues will see if they are following my activities.  I do not believe that you can see activity feeds in Outlook without code so i did not pursue it in this post

 

image

Above:  The question posed on the MS Forum

image

Above: A basic Site in SharePoint 2010 with me logged in (see upper RHS)

image

Above:  I click on “Tag & Notes” to tag this entire page as requested in the question. Please not the tool tip when I hover over “My Tags”

image 

Above:  This is the Tag I created and saved off, note the Tag name and options available

 

image

Above:  My Tag is created and you can even see it under the suggested Tag Icon

 

Verification and Validation

 

image

Above:  I go to my MySite and go to my Profile

 

image

Above:  I am on the main page of my MySite Profile… I love the new look and feel very Facebooky.. is that a word..l

image

Above:  I click on Tags and Notes and I can see the Tag i just created as well as a few others i did for BCS External Lists…

 image

Above:  I go to my mysite page as myself to demonstrate what i will see; obviously i see my colleagues updates…

image

Above:  I log in as one of my colleagues and as you can see “He” sees my activity roll; but not my tags. However I did not “as this individual” opted to share the came common interest, I wonder what would happen then?…

April 16, 2010 - Posted by | SharePoint 2010, SharePoint Administration, Tags and Ratings

6 Comments »

  1. btw. you don’t have to start from scratch with taxonomies for SharePoint. You can jump-start with pre-defined commercial taxonomies about lots of topics and in several languages. Just download here, import and start tagging…

    http://www.layer2.de/en/products/Pages/SharePoint-2010-Taxonomy-Metadata.aspx

    Comment by SharePointFrank | May 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. Heya i am fresh on here, I came accross this board I have found It quite accessible & it has helped me a great deal. I hope to contribute and help other people like its helped me.

    Thanks, Catch You Later

    Comment by Peatteroort | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. hi,

    i see that the tagging feature appears in my newsfeed…whenever my colleague tags any item i see that in my newsfeed ..however when he rates an item it does not show up in my newsfeed..it does show up in his my profile …i have rating enabled in my newsfeed setting…kindly suggest!

    Comment by richi | June 22, 2010 | Reply

    • I will attack this tomorrow. post a reply soon

      Comment by fabiangwilliams | June 30, 2010 | Reply

  4. […] How does Tagging Work in SharePoint 2010 for MySites – Microsoft Forum Question « Fabian Williams… (tags: sp2010 KM) […]

    Pingback by links for 2010-09-30 « Jet Grrl | September 30, 2010 | Reply

    • I havent done a specific post on that but RAM (Prakash Gopithapan) has

      Comment by fabiangwilliams | October 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,963 other followers

